Author: Gabby

  • William Wood’s Triumph Custodian Edition Opens for Pre-Order at £2,995, Delivering February 2027

    William Wood’s Triumph Custodian Edition Opens for Pre-Order at £2,995, Delivering February 2027

    DROP

    William Wood's Triumph Custodian Edition Opens for Pre-Order at £2,995, Delivering February 2027

    A Sellita SW510 chronograph at £2,995, and the only number the maker leaves out is how many.

    William Wood has opened pre-orders for the Triumph Custodian Edition at £2,995, with delivery stated for February 2027 on the brand’s product page. Both strap options cost the same, and that delivery date sits about six months after the pre-order opened.

    Mechanically the brand is forthcoming. It names a Swiss made Sellita SW510 automatic chronograph, 27 jewels, 28,800 beats per hour, 48 hours of reserve, and it publishes Sellita’s own tolerance, plus or minus five to twelve seconds a day, rather than a tidier figure of its own. The case is 41mm across, 16mm thick (16.5mm over the glass) and 49.5mm lug to lug on 20mm straps, gold plated with brushed sides and lugs, though the metal underneath is never named. Water resistance is 100M / 10ATM. The sapphire crystal is tinted a medium blue that the brand ties to the Blue Watch shift its namesake served on at the Newcastle and Gateshead Fire Brigade.

    The provenance claims are the brand’s own, and read best as such. William Wood states the crown is “made from a 100 year old melted-down British brass firefighter’s helmet,” and that the olive dial’s etched circle pattern takes its cue from the same helmet’s chin strap. The default green fire hose strap and its Fire Gear alternative fit on quick release levers, their backs stamped “made from rescued materials.” Nothing in the available material corroborates any of it independently.

    One number is missing. The brand’s own page description calls this a limited edition chronograph, and it says edition and authenticity markings are applied to the caseback by laser engraving, but no run size appears anywhere on the page.

    Price£2,995.00 GBP, the same for either strap
    ReleasedPre-order open; maker states delivery February 2027
    Specs41mm diameter · 16mm thick (16.5mm with glass) · 49.5mm lug to lug · 20mm lug width · gold plated case, brushed sides and lugs (base metal not stated) · sapphire crystal, anti-reflective coating, tinted medium blue · Sellita SW510 automatic chronograph, 27 jewels, 28,800 bph, 48 hour reserve · 100M / 10ATM · green fire hose or Fire Gear strap, quick release · 3 year international warranty

    Source: William Wood Watches

    Why this watch, on this wrist?

  • anOrdain Documents Its Shift to Porcelain in the Model 1’s Blue-on-White Dial

    NEW VIDEO

    anOrdain Documents Its Shift to Porcelain in the Model 1's Blue-on-White Dial

    In anOrdain's short film, founder Lewis and ceramics head Cara explain how fired clay dials diverge from the enamel they've mastered.

    anOrdain’s film “Blue On White | The Model 1 Porcelain” is a hands-on look at a dial material the team developed from scratch.

    Lewis details the process: clay fired at higher temperatures, a bisque firing in molds, then a second firing under glaze, unlike enamel’s glass powder fused to metal. Cara adds that the glaze bonds directly to the clay, with both materials achieving vitreous finishes through distinct methods. Two years of development, plus visits to Stoke-on-Trent potteries, helped them solve the key challenges.

    The blue-on-white design draws from tableware tradition and, as Lewis notes, the tiled interior of Porto’s Casa da Música.

    No case size, movement, price or edition figures appear here.

    Source: YouTube

    Why this watch, on this wrist?

  • IWC Explains Why the Spare Century Slider on Its Perpetual Calendar Repeats “22”

    NEW VIDEO

    IWC Explains Why the Spare Century Slider on Its Perpetual Calendar Repeats "22"

    An IWC Replies episode clarifies an engraving oddity and a smart servicing decision.

    In a new IWC Replies episode, watchmaker Sabrina Herzog answers a viewer’s question about the century slider. The fitted slider reads 20, 21, 22, keeping the calendar accurate until 2299. The included spare reads 22, 23, 24, extending accuracy to 2499 after installation by a watchmaker.

    The repeated 22 is intentional. A slider starting at 23 would leave the display wrong from the first day of 2300 unless swapped at that exact New Year. The overlap gives owners a full century to schedule the swap.

    No caliber, no references, nothing on service intervals or requesting the part early.

    Source: YouTube

    Why this watch, on this wrist?

  • Brew Documents Its Retrograph Stone Blend Launch Without Releasing Specs

    NEW VIDEO

    Brew Documents Its Retrograph Stone Blend Launch Without Releasing Specs

    The Brooklyn indie brand filmed the drop but skipped the spec sheet.

    No movement, water resistance, case dimensions, price, or even the stone material gets mentioned. What Brew did instead was point a camera at the drop itself.

    The founder filmed the launch himself, wearing what he calls the first of the edition. He flipped the Shopify listing live between 9:57 and 9:59, then sent the Instagram post and email blast while reading early reactions aloud.

    He says Brew made 250 of these and that each has its own unique dial. Those details appear nowhere else in the material we reviewed. The video’s description contains only the title.

    A companion film from the same channel, “Beautiful Variations • Stone Blend,” runs alongside it as supporting maker material.

    Source: YouTube

    Why this watch, on this wrist?

  • Echo/Neutra’s Averau: A Swiss Automatic Kickstarter Throwback

    LOOK BACK

    Echo/Neutra’s Averau: A Swiss Automatic Kickstarter Throwback

    This 2019 clip from Echo/Neutra’s own channel pitched the Averau, a 316L stainless steel automatic built on a Swiss Made movement, as it launched its Kickstarter campaign. It’s a nice snapshot of the microbrand hustle from a few years back.

    Why this watch, on this wrist?

  • Kiwame Tokyo Debuts the YANE, a Japanese Microbrand Watch Built Around Temple Roof Architecture

    Kiwame Tokyo Debuts the YANE, a Japanese Microbrand Watch Built Around Temple Roof Architecture

    DROP

    Kiwame Tokyo Debuts the YANE, a Japanese Microbrand Watch Built Around Temple Roof Architecture

    An Asakusa independent founded by a 30-year industry veteran turns rafters and ridge beams into a dial.

    Most new microbrands borrow a familiar design language, often Swiss, often a diver. Kiwame Tokyo’s YANE (屋根) breaks from that mold.

    The brand is based in Asakusa, a Tokyo district shaped by centuries of temple architecture. YANE means “roof,” and on Kiwame Tokyo’s product page the brand describes the watch as drawing inspiration from the temple roofs that have defined the city’s skyline for centuries. The approach reinterprets temple architecture from multiple angles instead of borrowing a single motif.

    The result is a restrained lacquer dial with no hour markers, only a single applied index at 12, shaped like a mune, the ridge beam along a roof’s spine. The caseback features a pattern inspired by taruki, the exposed rafters beneath. Two colorways are offered: KURO and ENJI.

    Behind the brand is Masaki Watanabe (渡辺雅己), who spent more than thirty years importing luxury watches into Japan and later brought international independents to the Japanese market. His site casts the brand as a conviction project rather than a volume play, a familiar claim given uncommon weight by three decades spent on the trade side of it.

    Kiwame Tokyo’s own product pages fill in the hardware, and the proportions are the surprise: a 316L stainless steel case just 26.5mm wide, drawn out to a 44mm lug to lug span and 9.7mm thick, around a regulated Japan made Miyota Cal. 6T27 automatic. Time and Watches lists the same figures. Pre-orders open on 19 August 2026 at 11:00 JST, one watch per customer, with deliveries estimated from the end of December 2026, and Monochrome, which first spotted the launch on 14 August, adds that sales resume in January 2027.

    ReferenceKT401 (YANE KURO, black lacquer dial) and KT402 ( YANE ENJI, Japanese burgundy lacquer dial)
    Price¥99,000 for either dial (about USD 730), excluding tax and VAT, per Kiwame Tokyo.
    ReleasedPre-orders open 19 August 2026 at 11:00 JST, limit one watch per customer, deliveries estimated from the end of December 2026 (Kiwame Tokyo). Monochrome adds that sales resume in January 2027.
    Specs• Movement: regulated Japan made Miyota Cal. 6T27 automatic
    • Case: 316L stainless steel, 26.5mm wide, 44mm lug to lug, 9.7mm thick, push/pull crown
    • Crystal: sapphire with inner anti-reflective coating
    • Dial: black lacquer (KURO) or Japanese burgundy lacquer (ENJI), one applied index at 12
    • Water resistance: 3 ATM (30 meters)
    • Strap: Italian calf leather, 20mm to 16mm taper, quick-release spring bars, fits 16cm to 21cm wrists
    • Warranty and shipping: 24 months, free worldwide shipping
    • Design registered under Japanese application 2026-007052

    Source: Kiwametokyo · first spotted via monochrome-watches.com

    Why this watch, on this wrist?

  • Audemars Piguet Turns to Stone with Malachite Royal Oaks

    Audemars Piguet Turns to Stone with Malachite Royal Oaks

    NEW RELEASE

    Audemars Piguet Turns to Stone with Malachite Royal Oaks

    Two Royal Oak Selfwinding references pair 18-carat yellow gold with natural malachite dials, one at 41 mm and one at 37 mm.

    Source: Audemars Piguet

    Audemars Piguet has put natural malachite into the Royal Oak Selfwinding line, across two yellow gold references: the 41 mm 15513BA.OO.1320BA.01 and the 37 mm 15553BA.OO.1356BA.04. Both set a green stone dial inside the collection’s familiar octagonal case, with 18-carat yellow gold hands and hour markers picking up the case and integrated bracelet.

    Stone changes the personality of a Royal Oak more than a colour swap does. Malachite is banded and layered, so the pattern varies from one piece to the next, and that natural irregularity plays against a design built entirely on straight lines and repeated geometry. Audemars Piguet frames both watches around the artistry of stone dials, and the pitch holds up: the case supplies the discipline, the dial supplies the variation.

    The two sizes run different movements. The 41 mm carries the selfwinding Calibre 4309 with a 70 hour power reserve, the 37 mm the Calibre 5909 at 60 hours. Both beat at 4 Hz, drive hours, minutes and centre seconds, and sit behind a glareproofed sapphire caseback, with water resistance of 50 m. Audemars Piguet does not publish a price for either reference.

    Royal Oak variants arrive constantly and most of them are a finish or a colour. This one is closer to a material argument, and it is a more interesting one, because no two of these dials will read quite the same in the light.

    WATCH SPECIFICATIONS

    Brand Audemars Piguet
    Model Royal Oak Selfwinding, natural malachite dial
    Reference 15513BA.OO.1320BA.01 (41 mm), 15553BA.OO.1356BA.04 (37 mm)
    Case 18-carat yellow gold. 41 mm at 10.5 mm thick, or 37 mm at 9.3 mm thick
    Dial Natural green malachite, with 18-carat yellow gold hands and hour markers
    Movement Selfwinding Calibre 4309 (41 mm) or Calibre 5909 (37 mm), 4 Hz, hours, minutes and centre seconds
    Power Reserve 70 hours (41 mm), 60 hours (37 mm)
    Bracelet Integrated 18-carat yellow gold, three blade folding clasp
    Water Resistance 50 m
    Price Not published by Audemars Piguet
  • Oris Announces Big Crown Calibre 113, an In-House Calendar Movement, Without Publishing Its Specifications

    Oris Announces Big Crown Calibre 113, an In-House Calendar Movement, Without Publishing Its Specifications

    DROP

    Oris Announces Big Crown Calibre 113, an In-House Calendar Movement, Without Publishing Its Specifications

    A week-of-year complication arrives in the Big Crown case, and the maker's own page leaves nearly every question open.

    Oris Big Crown Calibre 113

    Image: Oris

    Oris has published a page titled “It’s business time”, introducing the Big Crown Calibre 113. According to Oris, this is the first Big Crown case fitted with one of the brand’s in-house 10-day calibres, the hand-wound family that debuted in 2014 as the Calibre 100 Series.

    What Oris does describe, however, is the complication set. Calibre 113 displays day, date, and month, plus a 52-week indicator Oris calls a “business calendar.” A week-of-year display is rare in any wristwatch, and even more so in a hand-wound in-house movement from an independent brand that spent most of its history sourcing calibres.

    The power reserve demands attention. Oris notes that every movement in the Calibre 100 Series runs for ten days on a single winding and features “a patented non-linear power reserve indicator.” This applies to the series as a whole, not to Calibre 113 specifically. Treat it as lineage, not as a spec.

    Everything else is absent. Oris gives no reference number, no price, no case diameter or material, no water resistance rating, no dial variants and no availability date. The page carries no dateline either. Nothing has been withheld under embargo as far as we can tell. The information simply is not there.

    Oris notes the Big Crown has been in production since 1938, made originally for gloved airmen, and now, in the brand’s words, “a watch design icon.” Collectors will take the movement seriously. They will need considerably more before they can judge the watch.

    Referenceunknown (not stated on the Oris page)
    Priceunknown (not stated on the Oris page)
    Specs– Case size/material: Not disclosed. Oris's page contains no measurements, materials, or case-finishing details for the Calibre 113 watch.

    Source: Oris

    Why this watch, on this wrist?

  • Straum’s Expedition Appears on the Maker’s Own Site With No Specs and No Price

    Straum’s Expedition Appears on the Maker’s Own Site With No Specs and No Price

    DROP

    Straum's Expedition Appears on the Maker's Own Site With No Specs and No Price

    Every concrete number circulating about the Norwegian brand's new tool watch traces to somebody other than Straum.

    Straum Expedition (specific SKU on the sourced page: "Expedition White Lume")

    Image: Straum

    Straum, the Norwegian independent known for its Jan Mayen line, has listed its Expedition watch on its own site. The Expedition White Lume appears under a collection labeled “Expedition New,” which the site confirms contains just one product. This confirms the model exists as a current SKU, and the site’s underlying store data also lists two variant prices, though these do not appear in the visible page text.

    What the page omits, however, is nearly everything a buyer would need. No case dimensions, material, movement, water resistance, power reserve, lug width, clasp type, lume brand, or reference number, though the site’s underlying store data lists prices of 35,000 NOK (titanium) and 31,000 NOK (rubber). The rest consists of navigation, shipping/returns policy, and Journal links.

    There’s also no dated launch post. Straum’s Journal, as captured here, carries no Expedition announcement at all; the newest dated entries are four Jan Mayen models from March 2025 and the brand’s Micro-Adjust Clasp from December 2024.

    All circulating specs originate elsewhere. Oracle of Time and Gear Patrol both report a 38.2mm grade 5 titanium case, a La Joux-Perret G100 automatic and 100m water resistance, with Gear Patrol putting pricing at $2,750 on rubber and $3,100 on the titanium bracelet. Oracle of Time adds a roughly 68 hour power reserve and a 200 piece Midnight Blue launch edition. Fratello alone gives a 42.5mm lug to lug and BGW9 lume.

    Credible outlets, credible numbers, but no maker confirmation. Until Straum publishes its own specs, these remain provisional.

    Referenceunknown, no reference/model number appears anywhere in the retrieved maker page content
    Releasednot stated on the maker’s product page

    Source: Straum · first spotted via augustman.com

    Why this watch, on this wrist?

  • IWC and Mercedes-Benz Celebrate 140 Years With a Limited Big Pilot Perpetual Calendar

    IWC and Mercedes-Benz Celebrate 140 Years With a Limited Big Pilot Perpetual Calendar

    DROP

    IWC and Mercedes-Benz Celebrate 140 Years With a Limited Big Pilot Perpetual Calendar

    IWC's ProSet module, a first major revision of Kurt Klaus' perpetual calendar, debuts in a co-branded anniversary piece.

    IWC Schaffhausen (in partnership with Mercedes-Benz) Big Pilot's Watch Perpetual Calendar ProSet "140 Years" Mercedes-Benz

    Image: IWC

    On 13 August 2026, IWC and Mercedes-Benz unveiled a limited edition under the latter’s “140 Years of Innovation” banner. The Big Pilot’s Watch Perpetual Calendar ProSet “140 Years” Mercedes-Benz (ref. IW329603) is limited to 140 pieces. IWC’s press release links the 140-piece run to Mercedes-Benz’s 140-year history, one watch per year.

    A quick note on the math. The 140 years are the carmaker’s, counted from Carl Benz’s 1886 automobile patent. IWC itself dates to 1868. The two companies have worked together since 2004, and IWC has been Official Engineering Partner of Mercedes-AMG PETRONAS Formula One since 2013. CEO Chris Grainger-Herr describes a relationship in which “what began as a partnership has grown into a friendship.”

    The mechanical highlight is the ProSet module, first shown at Watches and Wonders Geneva earlier this year and now presented in this new execution. IWC describes it as a calendar “based entirely on gears and protected by four patents” that can be corrected forwards and, for the first time, backwards from a single crown position. It is a significant update to the architecture Kurt Klaus designed for IWC in 1985.

    The 42 mm steel case mixes brushed and polished finishes. The dial is black, with gold appliqués and gold-plated hands over a white-printed minute track. Through the sapphire back sits the 1926 laurel-and-star emblem marking the union of Daimler-Motoren-Gesellschaft and Benz & Cie.

    IWC’s release stops short of water resistance and price, though it does state the caliber (82665) and power reserve (60 hours). Figures are circulating elsewhere. We would rather wait for IWC’s own spec sheet.

    ReferenceIW329603
    PriceNot stated on IWC’s press page.
    ReleasedAnnounced 13 August 2026, 09:01 (Europe/Amsterdam), per IWC press release dateline "Schaffhausen/Stuttgart, August 13, 2026." No separate market-availability date is stated in the primary source.

    Source: IWC

    Why this watch, on this wrist?